Search
Ask a Librarian | Site Index
Close

Ask A Librarian

Call the Reference Department

Telephone the Reference Department at 303-724-2109. Mon-Fri 8am - 6pm

Chat Online

Chat Online (no software required)

Email Your Question

Use this form to get a response within 24 hours, excluding Saturdays and holidays.

Consultations

Schedule a free research consultation in your office or in the library.

Request a professional literature search for a fee.

University of Colorado Denver, Anschutz Medical Campus
Health Sciences Library

Article Linker: Accessing Full Text Online through PubMed and Other Databases

The Health Sciences Library integrates online full text directly with PubMed and other databases through the Find Journals/Article Linker online system.

Depending on the content provider, links to the content may be available at the article, journal, or database levels.

Contents

 

Full Text from PubMed

Note: To get PubMed to display links to the library's licensed full text via Article Linker, you must do one of the following:

 

Article Linker button in PubMed

When using our PubMed hyperlink, this button appears at the citation level of all PubMed web pages. Simply click the button to access the library's full text

image: Article Linker button as it appears in PubMed

In other databases, such as Ovid, you might see a smaller version of the same button or plain text links labeled Article Linker. Example:

image: smaller Article Linker button as it appears in Ovid

After clicking the button, look in the orange box (examples shown below) for links to full text. There are several possible outcomes, enumerated below.

 

Article level full text via Article Linker

screenshot: Article Level links in Article Linker

top

 

Journal title level full text via Article Linker

Sometimes Article Level links will not be available. why is this?

screenshot: Journal Level links in Article Linker

In this case, you would choose the Journal Title level link and drill down at the publisher site to find full text.

 

top

 

When the library does not provide online full text access to a particular title, you might see something like this

screenshot: when no library holdings are found by Article Linker

This is a case where you might try clicking on the "By Journal Title" link to make sure the library does not have print of a particular title, or ordering the article through the Interlibrary Loan / ILLiad system.

top

 

When the library has print content only, the system will show you the following

screenshot: Print-only items in Article Linker

In this case you can click the link to find out the location in the library, so that you can access a print version of the article.

top

 

Reporting a Problem from Article Linker

If you should encounter Article Level or Journal Title Level links that are not working from Article Linker, or encounter other problems we encourage you to Report a Problem (screenshot):

screenshot: Report a Problem link in Article Linker

Clicking the link will send bring up a quick web form where you can quickly describe the problem and leave us your contact information.

top

 

Publisher's full text buttons in PubMed—off campus vs. on campus

In the screenshot below, you'll see two buttons for accessing full text. In most cases, when you are on-campus you can click the publisher button (eg the Elsevier button in this screenshot) to go directly to the full text article (screenshot):

screenshot: Publisher button and Article Linker button

However, if you are off-campus, the publisher button will take you to publisher web pages explaining payment options for the full text in question.


top

 

When you have a citation in hand and need full text

We recommend using PubMed's Citation Matcher. After using Citation Matcher, click on the Article Linker button to find out your linking or ordering options.

You can also use the Article Linker's Citation Linker. If you use this option, you should remember to enter in a specific year for the item you are looking for as well as a Journal Title or ISSN. For non-medical citations, this is your best option.


top

 

Why is the "article level link" not always available?

In cases where Article Linker can only take you to the journal's table of contents or a database home page, you will have to browse the table of contents to locate the issue and article you need, or search the database or publisher web site directly to retrieve the full text article.

If the article link is absent from the Article Linker results page it could be due to one of the following reasons:

Please contact us with any questions or comments via the Ask a Librarian web page.

top